Complexities of Writing My Thoughts

First of all, I’ve been thinking a lot about what I got myself into in starting a “series” on faith and reason. I have not really laid any ground works on what I’m going to be writing about because I really don’t know. Structure and organization is not my strong point in writing or life. But isn’t this why I’m here anyways? To lay down my thoughts of what I think about without subscribing to a popular structure or be confined by what people think of it? Freedom is what I’m here for, yet freedom is what I fear the most in what I write (I’ll save this for another post).

Most of my attempts in writing is to provide a palatable display of words that sufficiently mirrors the thoughts in my head. I don’t know about you, but this is not an easy task. I think about things all day and have philosophical talks with my coworkers and friends, yet when I sit down and write, I’m at a loss of words. I find it fascinating how our language can fail so miserably in capturing the inner most thoughts in our mind. What I find even more fascinating is the unparalleled complexities of the human mind. We are so complex that we, like second nature, label and stereotype individuals into set groups. I am Asian, 25, Christian, college grad,  INFP in the morning, ENFJ in the afternoon, and all that good stuff.

I think Hammer Morty speaks for all of us that do not want who we are to be isolated to a single attribute or label. Despite what people think, he is “more than just a hammer!”. Plus all of you should watch Rick and Morty. Don’t make me label you as “one of those people”….

hammer morty

Anyways, what was I talking about? Oh right, how complicated we are. But with complexities comes beauty. Oh how beautiful it is to be able to express our thoughts and emotions into words so people can feel the way we do. The look on Hammer Morty’s hard chiseled face perfectly expresses such a longing for this beautiful feeling.

So the reason why I write is twofold. It’s to be understood and also to understand. There’s always more to say, but I’ll stop here.

 

Leave a Reply

