Escaping From the Escapes.

We live in a world of escapes. Reality is too painful, confusing, boring, and complicated. We make ourselves numb to the reality by medicating ourselves with all sorts of escapes, from video games, television shows, books, food, drugs, and sex. Most escapes are not in itself a bad thing. In fact, many of these things are essential for survival and can promote social activity.

Even if we use these things as purely an escape, it’s not necessarily bad because we all sometimes need a coping mechanism in our lives in order to function in society and numb a pain.

My concern is that escapes have taken over every single aspect of our lives. It consumes our free time, our conversations, and essentially our lives. I have actually written several pages about this topic, but I took it out of the post because I think most of us already understand the significance and impact escapes have on society and individual lives. Plus I want to get to the burning questions that I have been thinking about for a long time.

Do we need an escape from the escapes? Is our lives so full of fantasy and virtual reality that we do not know how to talk about real issues? Not real issues as in politics and other social things (there’s a time for that), but far more important are the issues in our lives. I enjoy talking about games and shows just as much as the other person, but when that becomes 90% of the things I hear, then that’s a problem.

I fully recognize how difficult it is to be real in such a fake and superficial society. No one likes talking about their feelings or the shit that goes on in their lives. It’s scary and uncomfortable. It makes us vulnerable to criticisms, judgement, and all these things that have become the top fears in our lives. I’ve personally avoid these situations many times in my life. For those that do know me, you know how I can be closed off, but also open at times. But the thing is, everyone craves it. Everyone wants some outlet where they can be heard.

This WordPress is my way of escaping the escapes. I could be playing video games now or watching shows, but I’m choosing to endure the struggles of writing for the sake of my sanity. What I post here is just a small part of who I am and what I’m willing to share. It’s very difficult for me to write here. But among the difficulty, there is a liberation of my jumbled up thoughts.

My hope is we can see how necessary it is for us to have a place to share our thoughts and problems. I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. I know I’m not the only one who longs to be understood, who longs to talk and be listened to, who longs for people who can see past our escapes and facades that we put on ourselves.

So here’s the challenge I have for you. If you agree with what I’m saying. If you long for the things I’m longing for. If you want to escape this world of escapes, even just for a little bit, then like or comment on this post. The hope is that we can find a solidarity within this community and find support in our groups.

2 thoughts on “Escaping From the Escapes.

  1. victor July 26, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    Not everyone who doesn’t share is doing so because they want to ‘escape’. Some people genuinely don’t care to do so. The people who do feel the want to do such a thing (especially to people outside their immediate family) should be the ones that take initiative and see who’s receptive. There’s no harm in it if that’s what you really want.

  2. Daniel July 26, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    Agreed. I might have lumped everyone in the position and mindset that sharing is a must, no matter who you are. Not everyone has a need to share or use things to escape. They simply enjoy certain activities for what they are or have no need to use it otherwise. Now that I think about it, I might have been too critical and quick to make general assumptions. The message still holds for the intended audience who feels this way.

Leave a Reply

